Skip to main content
Top Button
Ice Miller Announces New 2020 Partners, Names Board of Directors Ice Miller Announces New 2020 Partners, Names Board of Directors

Ice Miller Announces New 2020 Partners, Names Board of Directors

Ice Miller LLP is pleased to announce six new Firm partners effective Jan. 1, 2020.
The new partners are: Nicholas Casto, Jeff Hokanson, Chris Michael, Shawn Peterson, Carolyn Riggs and Stephen Tanner.

Nicholas Casto focuses his practice on litigation between commercial entities. Nick helps manufacturers, distributors and retailers maximize their competitive advantages by aggressively enforcing their contractual rights. He represents clients in disputes involving their agreements with customers, partners, distributors, licensees, lessees and employees and also frequently defends clients against other claims arising out of their commercial relationships, including fraud, breach of fiduciary duty and business torts. Additionally, Nick works with clients to protect their trade secrets, patents and other intellectual property associated with their businesses.

Jeff Hokanson is a commercial attorney with broad experience in matters involving all manner of contract formation and disputes. In this regard, he advises clients on a wide spectrum of issues related to their contractual relationships with suppliers, vendors and customers, including secured transactions and other issues addressed by the Uniform Commercial Code. Jeff’s practice includes guiding and representing secured and unsecured lenders in the creation and enforcement of their loan documents and security instruments, and he has litigated commercial disputes in state and federal courts within Indiana. Secondarily, Jeff is experienced with disputes involving real estate, including enforcement of purchase agreements, easements, and commercial landlord tenant disputes.

Chris Michael focuses his practice on complex corporate transactions, mergers and acquisitions, private equity investments and transactions and financing transactions involving debt and equity offerings. He has represented and assisted clients across a variety of industries including manufacturing, logistics, business services, financial services, veterinary medicine, information technology, agriculture and professional services.

Shawn Peterson represents business and non-profit clients, specifically in managing complex incentive and project finance transactions. He concentrates his practice in federal, state and local economic development incentives and project and working capital financings for high growth businesses and impactful nonprofit organizations. Shawn has economic development, tax and public and private finance law experience with a focus on real estate development and business relocations and expansions resulting in new capital investment, job creation and workforce training initiatives. In doing so, he has served as counsel for local, regional and state economic development entities, developers, expanding businesses and high growth companies.

Carolyn Riggs focuses on the defense of complex, multidistrict litigation for pharmaceutical, chemical, device and cosmetic manufacturers in federal and state courts. Her practice also includes general products liability, toxic tort and contract defense. In her career, Carolyn has represented corporate clients in all phases of civil litigation in both state and federal court. She has defended clients against a variety of claims, including negligence, breach of warranty, failure to warn, wrongful death, breach of fiduciary duty and consumer protection violations.

Stephen Tanner primarily concentrates his practice in real estate law. He assists clients in all areas of commercial real estate, including acquisitions and dispositions, finance, development, leasing, land use and zoning, entity structuring and joint ventures. 

In November, the Firm elected its first Board of Directors to ensure Firm-wide alignment of strategy, governance and management with an overarching goal to provide continuous improvement in our client services. The Board of Directors leads the Firm in cooperation with the chief managing partner and three deputy managing partners. 
The Board of Directors are Ed Braum, Brian Crist, Jim Davidson, Heather James, Tom Kesoglou, Laurie Miller, Miranda Morgan, Stephen Reynolds, Rebecca Seamands and Kevin Woodhouse

About Ice Miller LLP
Ice Miller LLP is a full service law firm dedicated to helping our clients stay ahead of a changing world. With over 340 legal professionals in seven offices, we advise clients on all aspects of complex legal issues across more than 20 practice areas. Our clients include emerging growth companies, FORTUNE 500 corporations, municipal entities and nonprofits. Learn more about Ice Miller and our client commitments.
This press release is intended for general information purposes only and does not and is not intended to constitute legal advice.
View Full Site View Mobile Optimized